A New Beginning

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

A New Beginning

"What would life be if we had no courage to attempt anything?"

Vincent Van Gogh

For a while, starting a developer blog was something out of a fairy tale in terms of things I would go on to start and accomplish. In my head, only the best of the best had blogs and I needed to live up to the many tech YouTubers that I watched on a daily basis before even starting to think about my first post.

Until I found this video:

Suddenly, topics and ideas for what I would go on to write popped into my head every day leading up to my writing of this post. So in honor of the start of my journey, enjoy a music break before continuing :)

"I choose to follow what the greatest do"

Indeed Andy Indeed

Anderson .Paak's Malibu album was on repeat when I first started my career in software engineering and if you get a chance to check it out, I highly recommend it. Front to back, the album was a masterpiece and I wanted to translate that energy into every block of code I wrote. "The Bird" is the first song on the album and it starts the mood off perfectly. The chill melodies and how the words flow line-to-line brings you into a sort of calm trance. This album, while it starts off on a slow tone, still packs a meaningful punch and the rest of the album only continues that impact. That is what I am hoping for with this blog.

While the beginning may be slow and chill, my vision for this space is to grow and transform into something that may positively impact many developers and those seeking to lead the developer life. As I outline my journey to becoming better and better at this craft, I would only hope to inspire others in the same position. I am excited to write about various tech topics in the coming months and share them with you all. Here are some major goals and topics I wish to cover in Travis Tech Blog:

  • Entering the industry with no degree

  • Day-to-Day life of a software engineer

  • Java, Javascript, and Database Development (My main stack at the moment and also encompasses a lot of frameworks)

  • New technologies and projects I start with the knowledge I acquire

  • My current Wellness app project that is being built using Ionic

  • Random updates on career and professional growth that I may find helpful to share

Posting on a semi-regular basis is my intention for this blog to be able to touch on all of the topics above. At the time of writing, I am between studying for tech interviews and finishing my portfolio website (built in the Gatsby framework). For the next few posts, I will be outlining things I learn through this process and any knowledge tips I can pass on.

Comments, suggestions, corrections, and encouragement is always welcomed as I am not the smartest person on earth and I am always willing to learn from my peers. Enjoy! :)